The Lemon Chip Cookies of The Inn on Pamlico Sound

img_1402

Our recent vacation seems like a whirlwind.  We quickly traveled through the Outer Banks in a quest to see all the lighthouses in North Carolina.  One thing I know for sure, I want to go back and when I go back, I want to stay at The Inn on Pamlico Sound again and I want to stay for more than one night.  What a delightful place with friendly and accommodating staff.  The Inn is located in Buxton which is 10 minutes from the Cape Hatteras lighthouse.  Their website says they are a “full service boutique hotel.”  I wasn’t sure what that meant, so I did a little research.  The definition is “a small stylish hotel, typically one situated in a fashionable urban location.”  It is privately owned; in fact, the owner, Steve, lives in a house attached to the hotel.  Here are a couple of pictures.

Our room was called the “Lily” room.  It was very clean and inviting.  There was a basket of snacks and we were told to enjoy all we wanted.  They also had nice big bottles of organic shampoo, conditioner, and shower gel and bathrobes for our use.  You can’t take them home though without a fee, but nice to use while there.

The Inn also has a restaurant attached.  You could purchase dinner, but breakfast was included in your stay.  They even have gardens on site where they grow their own vegetables and herbs for the restaurant, Cafe Pamlico.

I have to share my sunset picture which was taken from their porch area directly overlooking the Pamlico Sound.  Absolutely amazing!

img_0982-2

Now, on to the cookies.  Homemade cookies were readily available and the most delicious coffee, including “flavored” creamers.  I was in Heaven.  On the day of our visit, they had made lemon chip cookies.  They were fresh and warm.  I think I ate 3 and, actually, I couldn’t stop thinking about them.  When I returned, I searched the internet for the recipe and found one that included 1 cup of chopped walnuts.  I just left the walnuts out (but you don’t have to), and they were a winner!  Here goes:

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

3/4 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

3/4 cup unsalted butter, softened

1/2 cup packed brown sugar

1/4 cup sugar

1 large egg

1 TBS fresh lemon juice

2 cups (12 oz. pkg) Ghirardelli white chocolate chips

1 tsp lemon zest

img_1390

Preheat oven to 375.  Combine flour, baking soda, and salt in a small bowl.  Beat butter, brown sugar, and white sugar in a large mixing bowl until creamy. Beat in egg and lemon juice; gradually beat in flour mixture.

img_1393

Stir in morsels, (nuts), and lemon zest.  Drop by rounded spoon onto baking stone.

img_1396

img_1397

Bake for 10 – 15 minutes until golden brown around edges.  Incredible!

 

 

Leave a comment