Permanent Marker Removal

This is kind of swaying from my normal food post; however, it was so helpful to me that I want to share.  Our kitchen tables are not only a place to gather and eat, but also a place to do homework, crafts, gift-wrap, and art.  Sometimes there’s a mishap and you’re left feeling like this expensive piece of furniture has been ruined.

On Friday, I was asked if I knew how to get permanent marker out of a table.  I didn’t know how right off hand, but thanks to Google, we can find out all kinds of things quickly these days.  I think this is a tip worth sharing.

You’re going to need:

IMG_5100

Toothpaste, and not the gel kind.

IMG_5107 2

A bowl of water

IMG_5102

and a soft cloth.

First, here was my dilemma.

IMG_5099

I squirted some toothpaste on a paper towel and dipped the cloth in it.  Then I dabbed a little bit on each spot.

Next, I rubbed it in a circular motion until I could see the marker disappearing.

IMG_5106 2

Then I dipped the cloth in water and removed the toothpaste residue.

Viola!

IMG_5113

Here are some other household products to use on stains:

(ALWAYS TEST ON A SMALL INCONSPICUOUS AREA FIRST)

on Fabric – use rubbing alcohol, hand-sanitizer, hairspray, WD-40, and regular toothpaste (not gel)

on Walls – rubbing alcohol, peanut butter, regular toothpaste (not gel)

on Wood – rubbing alcohol, peanut butter, regular toothpaste (not gel)

on Leather – aerosol hairspray, distilled white vinegar, sunscreen

on Carpet – aerosol hairspray, distilled white vinegar, rubbing alcohol

 

Leave a comment